Sheep, goats and kangaroos - Reisverslag uit Wilcannia, Australië van Kirsten Lienden - WaarBenJij.nu Sheep, goats and kangaroos - Reisverslag uit Wilcannia, Australië van Kirsten Lienden - WaarBenJij.nu

Sheep, goats and kangaroos

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Kirsten

08 Oktober 2013 | Australië, Wilcannia

G’day mates,

sorry for the long wait. Living in hostels without proper wifi, owning a prehistoric computer is not a good combination for keeping up a blog. Another disappointment, I promised I would tell you more about Sydney. This however, would be deceiving, since I just moved out of the city and I wouldn’t want to lie to you. Chaotic as I am, I might just tell you all the big city adventures later. For now, I moved on to a new adventure.

Not having been a good enough fundraiser, I had to start looking for a new job last week. As if by magic, I stumbled upon a job on a sheep station in the outback. Outback meaning, that I now share a property, the size that would be home to roughly 8 million people in London, with 3 people, a thousand goats and 6000 sheep.

On the way here, we passed about 20 dead kangaroos, had to dodge another 20 alive ones, in addition to heaps of emus and wild goats, that decided to just cross the dirt road as a car was passing by.

Living on a sheep station, does not mean I will actually be chasing and shaving sheep. Instead, I am working as a governess (very fancy), but basically I will be explaining the 11-year old boy that lives here the schoolwork that he gets from the School of the Air, so the parents can work on the farm.

So far, so good. Slowly getting used to being isolated. It’s a good thing that the family is really nice! Even the frogs that live in the bathroom and occasionally make their way through the drain to have a shower together, are very friendly.

Oh and guess what? My camera broke again. It’s probably going to take a while to find a place where I can get it fixed. Sheep won’t be any good at fixing camera’s I reckon? So yeah. No photo’s for now guys, but keep posted!

  • 08 Oktober 2013 - 07:39

    Gerrit:

    Hoi Kirsten,
    Zit hier 0730u in de ochtend te lezen dat jij in the middle of nowhere tussen duizenden schapen en geiten zit, erg leuk zeg. Jammer dat je geen fotos hebt, maar ik kan me er wel wat bij voorstellen. Zat gisteravond toevallig op Discovery Outback Truckers te kijken. Speelt zich af waar jij zit. Heel veel last van water zag wel.
    Ver van de bewoonde wereld dus, makkelijk toch kun je ook geen geld uitgeven en heeft fundraising ook geen zin joh.
    Hier in NL gaan we de herfst nu in, bij jullie dus de lente. Geniet er maar van.
    Groeten uit Breda
    Gerrit en Margot

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Kirsten

Actief sinds 19 Juni 2012
Verslag gelezen: 327
Totaal aantal bezoekers 12794

Voorgaande reizen:

19 Februari 2013 - 21 Augustus 2013

The Australian Dream

13 Juli 2012 - 24 Augustus 2012

Voor het eerst alleen

Landen bezocht: